• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jdubbs

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Feb 22, 2015
    Dearborn County
    I have messed around quite a bit here lately with subs in 308. Verified without can on then tested more with the cam, no problems. Barrel is 18 inches, 1:10 twist. Powder is Trailboss and primers always CCI 250s. I have shot many different bullets 150, 165, 168, 170, 175, 180, 190, and 208gr. Never had a bullet tumble, must be luck for me finally.

Problem I saw today had 168gr 2nd bullets tumbling at 80yds. This is my first time shooting these particular bullets, but have shot many 165-168 bullets without issues, ever. OAL is 2.8 and forget my jump but didn’t go longer due to magpul aics mag length. Velocity avg 1035 with 10.5gr charge. Same charge I use for almost all loadings.

Any suggestions to get some stability anyone has done in the past? I can lengthen the oal but will single feed and that’s fine, I can shorten it as well. Just wanted to try to reduce wasted time if someone had a similar instance.

Also the bullets are 2nds, no visible issues, weight is all good as well as measurements. Nothing out of the norm. They do stabilize in my 300blk bolt gun but loaded .025-.030 off the lands since I have room in the mag.

Creedmoor

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 10, 2022
    Madison Co Indiana
    The first question I would ask is, how were these bullets "Pulled"
    Are these bullets still concentric when loaded?
    When spinning down the bore?
    Why are these loosing Yaw when the others are not?

Years ago I bought tons of pulled bullets from a WV de-miller that had been pulled a few different ways, some cans were simply collet pulled, some were push pulled with collets to break the and some had the cartridge neck split once or twice and the bullets and the bullets just fall out.