• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Archaic_Entity

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 9, 2008
    I'm looking to do a good set-up that's involving some older Western style pistols. I'm probably not going to go with anything original (due to monetary constraints), but what I was wondering is... What would be a good set-up for gun slinging?

Now... I wouldn't use these pistols as my carry guns, I've already got that. I'm just looking for something that's well balanced enough that slinging it wouldn't be too hard. In general, what would I be looking for in a revolver to do that? I'm thinking I'll eventually do an entire Western set-up. Coach gun and leathers and everything. So I'm open to a whole bunch of suggestions. I'd also just like something comfortable to hold, preferably in a .40 cal or something to that effect.

I am a bit of a novice to revolvers, except that I've shot a couple and understand how they work... but I am leaning on the experienced people. Just to sum it up. Something of the Old West era in style, well balanced for slinging, comfortable to hold. I may mix and match pistols, too. Have like an 1858 Remington Navy in one hand and a 1847 Dragoon in the other, but I'm not sure how well that goes. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ar15_dude

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 12, 2008
    I have experience with the following, and I have added comments to each:
    - Ruger single six: cheap to shoot 22, I have hunted squirrels with it, great for beginners
    - Ruger Super Blackhawk: strong 44 mag, adj sights, not very "authentic"
    - Uberti SAA copy: reasonable quality cowboy pistol in 45 Colt
    - Chapperal SAA copy: better quality cowboy pistol in 45 Colt
    - Colt 1851 Navy copy: cap and ball, fun but needs cleaning too often!