• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kawtech87

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 17, 2011
    Martinsville
    So Ive been doing a little trading and Ive been looking for a 686+ for a few months and finally a friend of a friend of mine just so happen to have a LNIB unfired 686+ he was willing to trade me. The thing is he bought it and then realized it has a slight issue. The Grips, no matter how tight you get the screw, rattle and move back and forth. It really doesnt bother me because I think I can fix it easy just by swapping out to some nice wood grips but I figured Id ask you guys and see what you think.

Will swapping out to some nicer wood grips get rid of the rattle the factory grips have or is this a common issue with 686s that will just do it all the time inspite of the grips?

fastwally

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jan 4, 2010
    Peru
    Call S&W, they will send you a shipping label and it will cost you nothing. They have great customer service. You might want to sell the gun one day and the new buyer will want the original wood. Usually done in about two weeks.

kawtech87

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 17, 2011
    Martinsville
    Call S&W, they will send you a shipping label and it will cost you nothing. They have great customer service. You might want to sell the gun one day and the new buyer will want the original wood. Usually done in about two weeks.

It didnt come with wood grips. It has plastic feeling two piece grips on it now that are branded S&W. See the link above its that exact pistol.

I want to put some wood on it though. I think it would look much better. Any suggestions as to make or model for wood grips for it?

Fullmag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Sep 4, 2011