• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tskin

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 29, 2008
    West Central Indiana
    I wrote my congressman Brad Ellsworth regarding the Blair Holt Firearm Licensing Act. Here was his reponse:

Thank you for contacting me to express your views on the Firearm Licensing and Record of Sale Act. I appreciate your comments, and I welcome this opportunity to share my thoughts.

As you may know, I have been a law enforcement officer for most of my career and a hunter all my life. My experiences have taught me the importance of responsible firearm ownership and usage. Please know that during my time in Congress I will always protect the Second Amendment right for Americans to keep and bear arms and oppose efforts to impose burdensome regulations on gun-owners.

Recently, Congressman Bobby Rush of Illinois introduced the Blair Holt's Firearm Licensing and Record of Sale Act, H.R. 45. This bill would establish a federal licensing requirement for all citizens who currently own a firearm or attempt to purchase a firearm. Shortly after this bill was introduced, it was referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary. I am not a member of that committee, but, if this bill comes to the House floor for a vote, I will vote against it.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your views with me. If you would like to learn more about my positions on issues important to you or receive regular updates on developments in Congress, please visit my Online Office at www.ellsworth.house.gov and sign up for my e-Newsletter.

Sincerely,

Brad Ellsworth

Bill of Rights

Cogito, ergo porto.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Apr 26, 2008
    Where's the bacon?
    You can't ask for much better than that. Clear, definitive. "I will vote against it." No weasel-words, no, "I'll consider your thoughts"... just "I will vote against it."

And from a Democrat, too. Good for him.

Blessings,
    Bill