• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DocSkunk

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jun 1, 2012
    Kendallville
    I am still new to Red Dots. I put on a Holosun 407c-gr on a Walther PDP. So my question is it normal for them to be a lint and hair magnets? Even after I clean it, a hour later there is stuff on the optic. Sometimes its hard to see. I was wondering if this is just normal. Is where a way to prevent this? I am carrying in a Bare Arms OWB holster.

dudley0

Nobody Important
    Rating - 100%
    99   0   0
    Mar 19, 2010
    Grant County
    I have similar issues with my 507. I am getting all kinds of stuff in there. I blow it out with canned air.

Was doing a lot of drywall sanding and boy did it look odd in there after that. I blew and then wiped it all down after to get it to where it wasn't a distraction.

All the fuzz that is created when you walk around rubbing the holster against your clothes is adding to it most, in my opinion. I had collections on the gun before I switched to an optic.

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    Mine don't seem to attract stuff but I suppose if they are kept under certain types of clothing they could pick up lint and such.

Ever since I mounted my SRO on my M&P 2.0 Compact I have noticed that it gets a lot of powder residue on the front of the lens. My RMR did not do this. I suspect it is because the SRO stick farther forward.

On another note, I have discovered that it really doesn't seem to matter. I can shoot it dirty.

russc2542

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Oct 24, 2015
    Columbus
    Gobs of dust/lint/fuzz/hair on mine. Kind of the nature of sticking something in your pants. I make my own holsters and made a little hood to cover it. It's held in place over the optic by the shroud on the holster and falls free on the draw.