• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • VERT

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 4, 2009
    Seymour
    I think my 12+ year old Honda may have gone kaput tonight. Self propelled won't engage. Not sure the old girl is worth fixing. I have been telling my wife "one more season" for a couple of years now. So I am looking for a new self propelled mower. Suggestions.

grasshopperlegs

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 17, 2012
    Cartersburg.
    I worked on the Honda self propelled for years. If you take it to a good small Engine mechanic they might be able to tell you if the engine is ok . If the engine is ok then the drive train wouldn't need much maybe a belt or the drive gear. I hope that helps.

Cameramonkey

www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    Given you got 12y out of it, Another Honda or anything with a Briggs on it. Both power trains are solid. Everything else is meh.

VERT

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 4, 2009
    Seymour
    Next one will have a Honda engine. My old mower runs perfectly. Just change the oil and give em a new plug every once in a while.

I am going to have the Honda dealer look at the drivetrain. I am just not sure the old mower is worth putting a bunch of money into. Also it is a little small for the amount of mowing I do. But I don't replace things that aren't broke.

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I just finished the 2nd season with a Kohler engine Toro. It really does start first pull, the self propelled is great and it never bogs down with anything that even resembles a lawn. It also seems to be easy on the gas consumption. I have been happy with it.

Bennettjh

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 8, 2012
    Columbus