• ...and so much more!
  • repeter1977

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 22, 2012
    NWI
    sounds like just another step to watch all us veterans. You know, we are scary people and all. As if there isnt another way to do it, especially when we have access to 20 million pills that they will prescribe you to take care of your problems.

2A_Tom

Crotchety old member!
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 27, 2010
    NWI
    Under DHS guidelines the greatest threat to national security are returning veterans and christians. Tavis Smiley aand many Libertarians concur.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    I'm a veteran, and I'm also a realist. If someone is really dedicated to killing themselves, you won't stop them. You might delay them, but you won't stop them. I've had the unfortunate experience of racing a fellow soldier to the ER for an intentional overdose.

That said, a lot of folks just have a small window were they have that dedication. If you can keep them going through that window, they may go on to happy and productive lives.

Its not an easy call. How far do you go to protect people from themselves, and the flipside of the coin, how willing are you to standby and let someone who suffered the wounds of war commit the greatest tragedy of all by not stepping in? Reasonable people may differ, but you are talking about real people, not statistics, not intangible "theys", real people.