im looking for a new rifle, any suggestions?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BlueCow

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 28, 2012
    I am really new to rifles, but i am looking for a bolt action, single shot 22, i want the overall length to be at least 41 inches...any suggestions? my father in law has what i am looking for, it was sold by sears, maybe 50 years ago...i keep bugging him to sell to me but its not gonna happen....too much fun to shoot :)

BlueCow

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 28, 2012
    hey, thats perfect, i will be at the indy 1500 in two weeks, hopefully i can find one like that. the reason for the overall length to be at least 41 inches is the shorter rifles just dont feel right....feels like im holding a toy. i think im going to have to get a older gun, since they seem to have wood stocks and a heavy barrel....i checked out a few new guns but they were so short and light, they just didnt feel right.

Small's

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Dec 16, 2012
    south of Indy
    Cz452 ultra lux is over 41" and the 452 trainer is cheaper but its 39". They come with a 5rd magazine. They make a blank clip that can only hold one shell if thats what a guy wants. They are built very well and extremely accurate. I bought mine at KS&E guns on pendleton pike. They were the cheapest i could find.

ru44mag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 6, 2013
    Dunhams has a Marlin 22 LR bolt action on sale right now for $169. I bought it the same price a month or two ago. Plain...but solid rifle.

sloughfoot