• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fullmag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Sep 4, 2011
    Adding some R-30 unbatted insulation. Question is it ok to cover cold air return with insulation while laying across attic space?

Fullmag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Sep 4, 2011
    Didnt think of that, legit question, no, not for blocking air flow. The duct has a foil type insulation and was thinking of running strips approximately 90 degrees over duct for two reasons to get job done easier and keeping the air warmer returning to unit.

Last edited:

GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 22, 2011
    Mitchell
    I'm no expert but using common sense, by covering the return air ductwork will tend to keep the air from gaining heat in the summer or losing extra heat in the winter that your unit will only have to over come when it gets back to your system's coils. I'd do it but I'll be interested to see what the experts say.

Fullmag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Sep 4, 2011
    Was watching This Old House and they mentioned it but I’m not an expert. Whoever insulated my house did a terrible job. Did part of the attic and what an amazing difference.

Thanks CP

tmschuller

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Feb 25, 2013
    Grant county
    You’re fine covering the duct. Adding insulation will help with the efficiency of the system in the summer or winter. More insulation will stop the infiltration of unwanted heat or cold depending on the season. Most flex or duct wrap is R3 -R6 five or take some. More insulation will benefit you by adding more R value

I always put r-30 over any flex duct I put in the attic

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area