• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kimbertrace

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 17, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    I have 2 1911's, a Gander Mtn exclusive Kimber Ultra Carry with Crimson Trace grips (purchased 6/25/09, 850 rounds through it) and an old LLama IX-D double stack that I purchased years ago. As you know .45 ammo is expensive, and I do not know of a .22 conversion kit for either of these. Thinking of getting a Kimber Pro tle/rl and a conversion kit.

Anyway, does anyone have a recommended practice schedule/round count that they would recommend?

Should I practice more with the Kimber or IX-D? Does it matter?

What should my specific realistic goal be as far as accuracy? (other than the obvious bullseye)

I am a newb so forgive me if this sounds elementary.

LPMan59

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 8, 2009
    South of Heaven
    .45 is becoming more available. my walmart usually has some every week. and places like bradis always have it in stock.

what are your goals for your pistols? plinking? carry? home defense?

if for carry, i would run a few hundred rounds through it and at least a mag or 2 of whatever carry ammo you will use. some 1911s can be finicky when it comes to JHPs.

personally, i have found full sized 1911s to be the most accurate guns to shoot. point and the bullet goes there. what i do is start out at 3 to 5 yards. if you put every round in the head, bullseye, etc, then move the target a few yards back. repeat as necessary. taking a pistol class is always a good idea too.

ymmv
    practice with both, but practice more with the one you will defend your life with.

Jay

Gotta watch us old guys.....cause if you don't....
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 19, 2008
    Near Marion, IN
    Levels of proficiency, and accuracy are goals set by each individual shooter. Obviously, the more quality practice you get, the more proficient you should become.

yogiboobooranger