• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    Bedford, IN
    A "go" gauge is the same as a factory round. I will sell you one factory .308 round if you really think you need it.

Actually that isn't necessarily true. A go guage is a precisely machined gauge to determine if chamber dimensions (mostly headspace) are proper. Just because a factory round will chamber doesn't mean the head-space is proper.

I may have a go-gauge that I would loan out but it will be quite a while before I can get to it and get it sent to you.

Brownie

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Feb 7, 2011
    Fayette county
    Country boy...Thank you for the offer I may take you up on it if I still need it by the time you locatevit. Much appreciated.

And Slough foot. I happen to be a toolmaker by trade. And while you may be able to use a "factory round" they are very much NOT THE SAME! I could machine one harden it grind it etc. Just not worth the time nor trouble when I can buy one for 30$.

engineerpower

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Jun 1, 2008
    State of Boone
    Actually that isn't necessarily true. A go guage is a precisely machined gauge to determine if chamber dimensions (mostly headspace) are proper. Just because a factory round will chamber doesn't mean the head-space is proper.

Forgive me if I'm mistaken, but I believe the purpose of a "GO" gauge is to establish the presence of a minimum headspacing, the goal being to see that the bolt will close and lock up on a properly sized round. If the bolt closes and locks up on a properly sized round, are we not in a "GO" state? The "NO-GO" is to identify instances where headspacing is excessive and tells you "Don't shoot!"