• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • vvet762

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 16, 2013
    Fort Wayne
    Help me understand something. I am a Vietnam combat veteran. I walked the jungle at night sometimes and I NEVER thought about have a bright light at the end of my barrel. I wouldn't even smoke cigarettes after dark. Why in the world would I want a spotlight on my weapon now? Too many TV shows show the good guys totally giving their position away while hunting the bad guys. A bright light might spoil the BG night vision but why give your position away? Or, could it just be another gimmic for the retailers to get your dollars?

BigBoxaJunk

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 9, 2013
    East-ish
    I never thought I'd want a light on my weapon.

In fact, I'm not a fan of optics either. I like my guns uncomplicated and without all those accessories and projections that are sure to get snagged on clothing, brush, or whatever and hinder your movement.

MrBlue54

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 5, 2012
    LaPorte
    Not an expert by any stretch of the mind, but leave the lights off. I think that we keep the advantage of knowing our homes when someone else enters as they will be trying to find the way around while we watch and then act appropriately.

kaveman

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Sep 13, 2014
    La Porte
    I'm not much of a fan for hanging accessories either, but target ID in the civilian world is a little different than in the jungle. This isn't a free fire zone,.....yet.

DWS

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jul 12, 2010
    Sheridan
    Weapons mounted lights are a must for tacticool TV. Even some of the best written and filmed shows / movies have the characters using lights that are completely unecessary simply because it's good for the big screen - so I wouldn't use what your watching on TV as an indicator of whether you need a light on a gun.