• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Anyone have any experience with 6.5 Grendel in the AR platform?

Niece is graduating high school this year and for her 13th I got her a Howa Mini-Action in 6.5 Grendel. She loves it, calling it the "Goldilocks round".

Since I usually get the kids an AR for graduation (well, #2 got a G3, but #1 got a Colt 6920, #3 Centurion CM4 Mid, #4 LWRCI) I thought an AR in this caliber would be a good fit.

I have ZERO experience with 6.5 Grendel in any platform. How about you? What do you have? What do you wish you had?

Magazines? Optic?

84VETTE

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 28, 2009
    Salem
    Here is the one that I built for private property deer hunting. Its an Aero upper/lower with Criterion hybrid 16"barrel. I think it is about the perfect whitetail round for Indiana, I just wish ammo was a little more prevalent. I run it suppressed now and it is awesome.

I used a YHM flip up front sight but I should have went with an adjustable gas block, but I put the rifle together before I had a suppressor.

I have had luck with the E-Lander magazines.

1662638907098.png

92FSTech

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 24, 2020
    North Central
    It depends what you plan to do with it. I had one that I played around with for a while, and had no issues apart from accuracy with the original bargain-basement BCA barrel. I fixed that by swapping it out for a Faxon. It was a really nice shooting gun, with more punch than a .223/5.56 but still had very manageable recoil.

I ended up selling it off because I ultimately realized that my use for it...shooting paper from 200 yards an in...could be just as adequately accomplished by a .223/5.56 as the Grendel, for a lot less money and with much simpler logistics.