• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Drewski

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 4, 2019
    Deep South Side
    So one of the Xmas gifts I got from my lovely wife was a printout of the "Mac" page on the Apple website. Not knowing which one to buy, she just left that up to me. I've read positive reviews of the new M1 Macs, from the Air to the 24" iMac (why no big screen yet???), but I haven't spoken to anyone personally or heard from anyone outside of the tech world. I've been using the same 27" iMac since 2011 (!!!) and it has performed flawlessly, hardware-wise, without a need for servicing. I mean, this thing still has it's original HD for Pete's sake. I added an SSD a long time ago as the boot drive, but still use the original HD for media storage. I added more RAM shortly after purchase too, but that's it. And I have beat this thing like a red-headed stepchild in terms of workload. Heaps and heaps of photo and video processing, in addition to home network management, coding, and all the other typical computer uses. It was even the family TV for a while when we were "between houses" and renting until we found our current digs. The point of all that is that after 30 years of countless PCs etc. before I got the Mac, Apple has impressed me enough that I'm looking to them first (my wife's 2009 Macbook Pro is still a daily driver as well.) But after 11 years, I'm overdue for enjoying the processing power of something new, especially for video, and semi-retire this workhorse to kids' schoolwork duties. I'd like to read some personal experiences.

And yes, I'm well aware of the corporate woke ideologies, pink politics and Tim Cook's elitist know-it-all BS, also that most everything is made in China. Those are topics for a different discussion.

matbmorr

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 29, 2021
    Charlestown