Does anyone swage their own jacketed bullets?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Cat-Herder

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Nov 15, 2009
    Fortville
    I've been talking to Brian, AKA BTSniper over at the castboolits forum, and I'm really considering this. I've been mulling it over for a couple of years, as it's kinda pricey to get started. Does anyone here do this?

BTSniper Custom Tools and Dies - Cast Boolits

The gist is: take a .40 spent casing, insert a cast lead slug, run it through the die/dies, and the final product is a .45 jacketed hollowpoint.
    The same can be done with .22LR/.223, 9mm/40, and 5.7/.308.

Thanks, in advance! :ingo:

CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0
    Nov 10, 2008
    Bedford, IN
    I had considered it but like you said, it's pricey. With my current connections I can get pulled 5.56 mil bullets extremely cheap so it's just not worth it to me. Different people will see it differently so my opinion is only one. I just don't have the time to dedicate to swaging my own bullets when I can buy them almost as cheap.

downzero

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 16, 2010
    Not worth it to me for pistol bullets when cast bullets would work just fine.

I think the rifle cartridge idea is much more plausible, but the bullets will probably never be as accurate as store-bought. Keep in mind that at the velocities (both spin rpm and actual velocity) that rifle bullets travel, bullets play a huge part in accuracy, especially as distances get longer.