• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brandon

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Jun 28, 2010
    SE Indy
    Well, I'm not an expert, but I'd do 2 things.
    Sister BOTH sides. And don't cheap out and use a short beam.

Next, look at the other rafters VERY closely.
    Why did it break?
    Did you have something fall on the roof?
    Is it rotted?
    Termites?
    Its on the backside of my roof. Directly in front of it was a fire intentionally set by previous home owners now ex wife. I'd be willing to be has something to do with the fire or fire being put out.

That said its almost the furthest from the access and I did not see any more on my way out.

KittySlayer

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 29, 2013
    Northeast IN
    Listen to actaeon. If you’re doing one side go ahead and do both.

Are you sure the house is not haunted by ex wives? Better sleep with one eye open.

Brandon

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Jun 28, 2010
    SE Indy
    Listen to actaeon. If you’re doing one side go ahead and do both.

Are you sure the house is not haunted by ex wives? Better sleep with one eye open.
    Lol not this house... it is haunted by a crazy gsd but thats a different story.

Slept just fine at the "haunted" house we use to live in :) although if i would have heard the foot steps earlier I may have been out.

Brandon

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Jun 28, 2010
    SE Indy
    Run a string, as far both ways from the affected rafter to make sure it hasn't "sow bellied" inward. If it has, brace it back upwards into it's proper position before bracing both sides.
    Good luck Sir.
    I was going to use my 6 foot level, sting would be easier to haul across the attic.

Thanks!

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette