• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ThoughPolice

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 30, 2010
    I am 20 years old and in the process of obtaining my CCW. My father lives in Michigan I live in Indiana. Would I be able to carry one of his handguns (obviously with his consent) even though he is a Michigan resident and I am an Indiana resident?

moischmoe

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 14, 2010
    Noble County, IN
    Once you have your Indiana LTCH, you can carry anybody's handgun. It doesn't matter who it belongs to, or where it came from. (Unless you stole it.) With your Indiana LTCH, you can also carry in Michigan- just be sure to follow Michigan state laws.

Hawkeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 25, 2010
    Warsaw
    I think Michigan has some sort of rules about registration/"safety" inspecition for handguns. I don't know that they apply to non-residents, though.

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Er... you guys are missing the part where he said he and his dad live in separate states. Yes, he can carry any gun he wants, but there may be an issue with his dad loaning him a gun while he's a resident of another state:

18 USC 922(a)(5) would prevent an out-of-state friend or relative from giving you control and possession regardless of where the 'loan' takes place-
    § 922. Unlawful acts
    (a) It shall be unlawful—