• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LeftyGunner

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 10, 2022
    Indianapolis
    Hey guys, I could really use your input here, I’m no blade expert.

I need to replace my 30-y/o estwing hand axe, and I’m at a loss in finding a replacement. I found and purchased the current version of the same hand axe I already had, but it is not the same. The balance, the finish, the handle, even he grind just feels…off…like, cheaper feeling , if that makes sense.

I have seen some really expensive hand axes online, and I wouldn't mind paying extra for a high-quality hand-forged American-made piece, but I don’t want to overspend for ego or buy an expensive collector’s item when I plan to use it in the field.

What suggestions does INGO have? Is there a standout hand axe I should know about?

Thanks in advance for reading my thread!

hotcupofbro

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2023
    Indianapolis
    I'm surprised the Estwing didn't work out for you. I have a couple of their hand tools including hatchet and rock hammer and I wouldnt use anything else.

I've spent quite a bit of time swinging a friend's Hoffman hatchet and another's Hults Almike Hatchet. I liked the feel of both in the hand - plus they have that classic wood handle construction. Hope this helps your search!

Mij

Permaplinker (thanks to Expat)
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 22, 2022
    In the corn and beans
    A heads up, Estwing makes two, a woodsman’s friend and a splitting fireside friend type for kindling this may be your issue. Depending on you’re needs look at a straight handle or the fawns foot curved handle. Lots out there try shopping at a dedicated camp store that may have several to check out. Good luck.

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county