• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ar15_dude

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 12, 2008
    I need the advice of experienced can users. What is the best pistol and suppressor combination? I am intereted in centrrfire, seems like 45 ACP is a good slow choice, which brand and model pistol? Which can?

netsecurity

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 14, 2011
    Hancock County
    I have no experience with cans yet, but I have a Walther PPQ First Edition, and I believe it is one of the best quality, as well as most affordable threaded (1/2x28) pistols. You can use 147gr bullets for subsonic in 9mm.

GI JOE

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 20, 2009
    Indianapolis
    Silencerco has a neat can called the osprey. The db rating is crazy. A different style than the traditional cylinder can, but highly noticeable quietness.

As for the pistol, can't go wrong with a high cap .45. HK, Sig...

GI JOE

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 20, 2009
    Indianapolis
    Also to note, I have a .22 sparrow ss and it's also crazy quiet with subsonic rounds. I put it on my p22 and savage mkII. Id like to pick up a GSG 1911 for it too

Goodcat

From a place you cannot see…
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    152   0   0
    Jan 13, 2009
    New Pal
    It's not so much the can as it is something that can easily be subsonic. .45 is by nature, so is 147gr 9mm. I've heard most .45 cans are hearing safe, but have a nice punch. My tirant 9mm, when loaded for subsonic, is very comfortable. Find a gun you like that someone makes a threaded barrel for and start your paperwork!

Ya, if you are looking for crazy quite, dedicated .22 is the way to go. You can also shoot down in caliber. A .45 can can be used on .45, .40, 9mm, .22 etc. each step down is a bit less efficient.

combat45acp

Master
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 27, 2010