• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Birdman002

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 7, 2012
    South Bend
    Yesterday I went to Martins on Ironwood across the street from IUSB to pick up some groceries for dinner. I was OC my Glock, and was walking getting my items and i was about to head to the cash register when....

A man whom i thought was a off duty leo ( he was in shorts and a baseball cap) flashed his badge and asked me if i was a police officer, i informed him i was not and said i was just an armed civilian and i had my LTCH. He told me to cover my gun up or leave because nobody wants to see that thing. I told him I have carried a ton of times in this store before and never had a problem, he replied with well would you like to start a problem. I said No and said ill never shop at martins again and left. Rookie mistake i should have gotten his name badge number and dept and went to the manager.
    The whole time the guy was a complete ass, very stern, and extremely cocky.

I left quite pissed off having to drive all the way to krogers where i got only hamburger meat for dinner that night.

I called Martins manager whom was a total sweetheart and explained to her what happened and she told me she would look up Martins gun policy and call me back.

A short while later she called me back and told me that Martins allows guns but its a family business and if their are complaints they ask you to cover it up or leave, which I had two mothers complain so they sent their security guard and gave me the two options. I was just shopping normal, not waving my gun around. I dont look like a criminal but oh well people are stupid

I told her how much of an inconvience it was, their loss of profit (30 dollars is still 30 dollars on the books), the loss of business to a competitor, and my inconveince it caused. She said she would look at it. +1 for a caring manager about her customers.