• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ranger2k

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 21, 2009
    Franklin
    I'm somewhat new to guns. Been around them a lot but have never really owned more than one or two at a time, so no expert here. Now that I'm getting back into the swing of things, I'm looking at handguns (semi-auto) and I see that there are specific models labled "left handed".

Is it a "leftie" model because it has Ambidextrous Controls or am I missing something?

What do other left handers do? Choose an ambidextrous model or make do with whatever the gun is that they like/want?

Thanks

Richard

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Great thread idea Ranger!

My daughter is left-handed / left-eye dominate & I am right-handed / right-eye dominate so I'll be following this thread with great interest.

I have noticed that our Walther P22 is ambi (at least it has safety levers on both sides) & she can shoot her right-handed bolt action albiet a little awkwardly but I will need to learn more about lefty firearms if I am to make things a little easier on her instead of always having her shoot my right-handed stuff.

JNG

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 23, 2009
    FN makes a line of guns with truly ambidextrous controls. CZ is pretty good, as well.

I carry a P220 leftie, and I've learned to manipulate the controls left-handed. After a little practice, it becomes second-nature to operate the mag release button, decocker, and slide stop with the left trigger finger. I can do it without altering my grip on the pistol, and can perform mag changes and clearance drills as fast as righties can. Just a matter of practice.

That being said, proper controls are nice. The FNP-9, FNP-40, and FNP-45 pistols are particularly great for lefties--the only downside being that they are too big to conceal easily.

JNG

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 23, 2009
    Great thread idea Ranger!