• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ol'Bluesmoke

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 6, 2009
    Accidental Discharges

How many of us have had an Accidental Discharge? I think we would also need to speak of semantics...Accidental..or Neglectful?

Mine was at the range with my first handgun, a Taurus 669 .357. I had it loaded up with Hydrashoks, and though I was a newbie, I had already learned the "big 4" safety commandments. I had the revolver pointed down range and with the hammer cocked I touched off a round when I was not ready. The percussion of the round and my unpreparedness shocked the crap out of me. I was shaking for a couple minutes afterward the feeling was so intense. So mine was neglectful...should not have cocked that hammer and had my finger on the trigger yet...thank goodness the safety rule of keeping the gun pointed in a safe direction was impressed in my mind and prevented something really bad from happening.

Last edited:

ihateiraq

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 25, 2009
    Upinya
    i think any time a weapon is fired unintentionally it is due to negligence. theres no other way i would label a discharge.

ATM

will argue for sammiches.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Jul 29, 2008
    Crawfordsville
    Agreed that most are NDs but one exception IMO are equipment related failures which may cause an unintended discharge. This is why we practice multiple safety rules - to minimize the impact of any failure.

I have not had one.

ihateiraq

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 25, 2009
    Upinya
    Agreed that most are NDs but one exception IMO are equipment related failures which may cause an unintended discharge. This is why we practice multiple safety rules - to minimize the impact of any failure.

I have not had one.

equipment related failures as in...?

Indecision

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 1, 2009
    Fort Bragg, NC