• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Hoosier Daddy

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 20, 2012
    I carried a 1911 back in my Army days. That was 25ish years ago, so I consider myself "rusty" with a semi-automatic, but when it comes to revolvers... I have zero experience.

1) I think I read that a .357 will shoot .38 special rounds. Does that mean a .38 special will shoot .357 rounds?

2) With the new(?) hammerless design, why would anyone still want a hammer? It just seems like something to get caught on your clothes, holster, etc...

3) What in the heck are Moonclips?

I'll probably think of some more, so please bear with me.

Bigtanker

Cuddles
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 21, 2012
    Osceola
    .357 will shoot .38 spl. A .38 WILL NOT shoot a .357.

A hammer is purely your choice. For a carry gun, hammerless is better, less to snag on.

Moon clips are clips you put 5-6 rounds in and drop right into the cylinder. Kinda like a speed loader.

THard6

Master
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   1
    Apr 1, 2010
    Greenwood
    1) .38 special will not shoot .357.
    2) I want a hammer for better control and two different ways to fire the gun.. so when the gun doesn't automatically cock itself i can pull back the hammer and make it go boom if i need to.
    3)
    moonclip2.jpg

hope this helps

Ejohnson

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 15, 2012
    Dublin, IN
    I second the hammer design. For carry, I admit its nice to have that smooth hammerless design, but I prefer semi-autos.
    I have a Ruger GP100 stainless in .357 Mag and I love the gun. It's not a carry gun with the 6" barrel, but its an excellent recreation and hunting gun. I can shoot .38's all day long as well.

actaeon277

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 20, 2011
    Merrillville
    Moon clip - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia