• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SteveG66

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 29, 2009
    I have a Bushmaster AR15 DCM, I have some 5.56 ammo, from what I have been reading on here and other boards, you should not run 5.56 ammo in a gun chambered for .223 as the 5.56 is a hotter round.

My DCM, according to the Bushmaster website, lists that the caliber is .223 or 5.56. Do they mean the two are interchangeable in this barrel and that I can safely shoot both. It seems that its obvious, but, I don't want to assume that I can and ruin a fine shooting barrel.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Steve

Serial Crusher

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 27, 2009
    Northwest Indiana
    I'm not sure if Bushmaster has a special chamber spec with a different leade, which the distance from the throat to the riflings so it can do it without harm. I would imagine the worst case would be lost accuracy and barrel life. I think that the 5.56/.223 marking is on a lot of their lowers, and may have nothing to do with the upper or barrel.

5.56x45mm NATO - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

SamW

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 28, 2009
    W. Lafayette
    SAAMI Spec. pressures are higher on the 5.56 and thus, 5.56 chambered barrels can safely shoot both the 5.56 and .223

Most AR's are chambered in 5.56 or a .223 Wylde, which is 1/2 way between the two. .233 specific chambers are used for target guns to be able to load the bullet much closer to the lands.

rambone

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    'Merica
    I wanted some clarity on this as well. Too much conflicting information out there.

Are there any AR-15's that will fire one but not the other??

esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy

Are there any AR-15's that will fire one but not the other??

Yes.