• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cyprant

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Dec 13, 2011
    North Georgia
    Thinking of bringing my young family in a pop up camper to see the zoo and NRA convention. Where would you camp within 30 minutes or so of the convention center? Clean facilities and security is my biggest concern.

Sirindu

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 4, 2014
    Indianapolis
    I'm afraid there isn't a lot of camping to be done in/around Indy. To my knowledge, one cannot camp in Fort Benjamin Harrison State Park or Eagle Creek State Park. I've heard of a Raceway Campgrounds and Indy Lakes Campground but I've had no experience with either.

I'm interested to see what suggestions people come up with. Wish I could be more help.

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    There is a KOA right off 70 @ mount comfort road... its outside marion county and away from that typical riff wraff.... Don't know about facilities though I have never been down the drive..... Just down the road from that is another privately owned place that you always see lots of decent appearing families around it... might be something to look into.

dnurk

Expert
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Boone County
    I know you said 30 minutes but there is nothing great within that radius. Raceway Campgrounds as mentioned above is a huge empty grass field next to the drag racing track west of town.

If it was me, I would make a long weekend of it and camp out at Shades SP. It would be about an hour downtown but is absolutely a great place. You could still do your day trips to Indy but also enjoy a great trail system and nice campground as well.

adws943

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 15, 2013