• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 7.62-5.56Plinker

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 18, 2011
    Portland, IN
    Hello, I'm pretty new to the idea of reloading. Ive heard buddies talk about it. it seems pretty logical, but is it really that much cheaper to reload rather than just go buy rnds? and how many times can you reload brass? ive really got a lot of questions, but dont want to burn up y'alls time. if someone wants to give me the rundown and a list of things ill need to get started that would be great. thanks a lot.
    Justin

shooter1054

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 22, 2011
    South Indianapolis
    I started out with a "kit". It contained almost everything you need to start. The savings is a part of it but I end up shooting more. For me I started reloading 44 mag and 300wsm. The cost on both is a little high. There was a higher satisfaction for me when I took my first deer with something I reloaded. You can reload brass several times. It depends on what you are reloading. The lighter the load the more you can reuse it as a general rule. You just have to do an inspection of the case. The best thing to do is buy a reloading manual first, read it cover to cover. This will answer most of your questions. Let me know how it works out and if you have any more question, I'll be glad to help.

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    Whatever equipment you go with, a MUST have is a QUALITY powder scale. A blown up gun or a trip to the emergency room quickly eliminates any joy or savings gained by reloading. There are lots of reloaders here so do not be afraid to ask specific questions. Good Luck

shibumiseeker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Nov 11, 2009
    near Bedford on a whole lot of land.
    There's LOTS of good info in the sticky, but depending on what you shoot and how you buy and use your components.