• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RonPaulSupporter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 26, 2008
    I'm new to NFA firearms, so I thought I'd ask this to one of you guys who has already been through the process of buying one a question I had. I want to buy a standard AR-15 lower receiver and have it shipped to my FFL, then I wanted to purchase an AR-15 upper with a 10 1/2 inch barrel to complete my SBR (the link for the upper is at the bottom if you need to see it). So what do I need to do to legally register the lower receiver so I can install the short barrel upper on it. Sorry if this is a simple question, but I just want to understand the laws before I commit a felony! :):
    Thanks for the help!

Welcome to Model 1 Sales' Online Order Center

VUPDblue

Silencers Have NEVER Been Illegal !
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   1
    Mar 20, 2008
    Franklin Township
    To register your AR15 as a SBR you must do the following:
    1. Fill out ATF Form1 in duplicate
    2. Obtain the signature of your chief local law enforcement officer on both copies of your Form 1.
    3. Obtain and affix a passport photo of yourself on both copies of your Form 1.
    4. Fill out a citizenship compliance sheet.
    5. Enclose a check or money order in the amount of $200
    6. Send everything above to the NFA branch for approval.
    7. Send your lower to Orion Arms to be engraved with your Name, City and State.
    8. Once your forms have been approved and sent back to you, order your 10.5" upper.
    9. Place upper on lower, insert mag and rock and roll:do2:

RonPaulSupporter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 26, 2008
    Thanks a bunch! This will probably be my first NFA firearm once I'm finished. I'm trying to get the money saved an all the paperwork done before inauguration time next year! :)