• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • lovemachine

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Indiana
    My youngest brother just bought a S&W model 637. I haven't shot it yet, but at first feel, I really like this gun. And I'm very tempted to get one for myself. Looking at S&W's site, I'm comparing the 637 with the 638.
    My question is, how does the hammer compare to a hammerless? Is the trigger pull the same on the hammerless when you pull the hammer back on the hammer? :n00b:

Why would you choose one over the other? I'm a noob to revolvers, so I'd like to learn.

Backpacker

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Apr 5, 2008
    Greenwood
    I have a 637 performance center model. Double action is very good and single action is wonderful. I have only owned revolvers with hammer spurs and would not have a spurless.

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    As you know one has a shrouded hammer and the other exposed.

I'm not sure how the trigger pull/feel is between the two as I have not handled/shot them but I would think they would be similar. The advantage of the 638 is less chance of a snag if pocket carrying vs the 637.

Plus, the 638 give you the option to fire it single action compared to the enclosed hammer like a 642, which is double action only.

Since I have no interest in shooting a revolver that is for self defense only in single action, the enclosed model like the 642 would be my preference.

If I ever thought I wanted to shoot in single action mode, I would go for the 637 and have a nice hammer spur to get my thumb on. Otherwise, I would bypass the 638 and look at the 642.

Opinion worth price paid.

bcannon

QC Dept aka Picky F'er
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    55   0   0
    Apr 13, 2012
    Boiler Country