• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • doctrpt

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 16, 2012
    Cope, IN
    Looking to both find and buy one, mostly for recreational shooting and general entertainment of using such a gun. I am not a big hunter, but do enjoy shooting fine firearms. Also, where would you go to buy this gun that you are recommending?

Thanks!

Bigshep

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 29, 2012
    New Albany
    Bought mine at Wal-mart. Spent $283 for the rifle ($227 alone), 555 rounds, and an overpriced second mag. Have seen them at Bass Pro for about $250. Ruger 10/22 is a great choice. A little more expensive than other .22 rifles, but its worth it. My dad has had his for like 30 years now (the same one I started shooting about 20 years ago) and has no issues with it at all. Its one of those guns that if you miss its not the gun, its you. Not to mention that the aftermarket is huge for them if you ever decide you want to change out stocks or something else.

canav844

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 22, 2011
    Go to your local gun store, pick up the cheapest one possible, go to midway, brownells etc, order a .920 stock and quality glass, order trigger internals from Kidd, order a VQ or Kidd or Shaw or Green Mountain barrel (most uses I'd saw .920 fluted bull barrel with provision to accept supressor or at least room for a smith to do so later if you so desire) and a trip to appleseed

Rating - 100%
    61   0   0
    May 16, 2010
    Fort Wayne, IN
    They were on sale at Gander for $199 last week.

I have a carbine 10/22 with an aftermarket stock, barrel, and a scope. Its a fun gun.

That being said if you want a plinker and don't care about putting any aftermarket goodies on it, you could check into the marlin 795. Half the price and more accurate box stock.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    My recommendation: