• ...and so much more!
  • Shoot313

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 19, 2021
    Central Indiana
    I’m new to AR ownership and looking for your personal experience with Norma .223 55gr tactical vs buying 5.56 55gr. I’m curious as to why it’s so expensive? Also, If my gun is sighted in with 5.56 green tip at 100 yds will it pattern the same on paper with the Norma .223?

BugI02

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 4, 2013
    Columbus, OH
    No. Greentip is 62 grain and the Norma is 55 grain. Even if they were to have the same muzzle velocity they would pattern differently due to terminal ballistic effects. The differences likely would not become apparent until after 150 yards, though

Shoot313

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 19, 2021
    Central Indiana
    Thank you, that makes sense. Upon more research I learned Norma is just lake city loaded to .223 specs. In my opinion it’s just overpriced. I originally thought there might be something special about it, besides the price

Last edited:

nipprdog

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Jan 11, 2009
    Tippecanoe county
    I've shot Norma 223 and federal 5.56 55gr XM193 through my ruger 5.56 bolt action. groups were different , but not by much. the big difference was the speed. the federal averaged 3150fps as expected. Norma claims their 223 tactical to be 3240fps. not even close. averaged 2840 for me. 16.5" barrel. fwiw, I prefer 5.56 over 223 just for the extra 300-400 fps.

BugI02

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 4, 2013
    Columbus, OH
    Thank you, that makes sense. Upon more research I learned Norma is just lake city loaded to .223 specs. In my opinion it’s just overpriced. I originally thought there might be something special about it, besides the price