New Rem 700 owner, ammo recommendations?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • therealsethh27

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 28, 2022
    crown point
    Hey there, After years of looking I finally pulled the trigger on a Remington 700 BDL in 270win. serial number looks like it's a 1981. I've been hunting waterfowl and upland birds for 5 years now and will be trying my luck at deer this year (hopefully). Does anyone have any ammo recommendation for hunting deer and target practice? I've heard some guns like certain types of ammo and loads etc. My 870 doesn't always take Winchester super X well for example. any other advice for this rifle would be appreciated as well, I plan to take care of it forever and will be taking it apart and deep cleaning later this week.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    Hey there, After years of looking I finally pulled the trigger on a Remington 700 BDL in 270win. serial number looks like it's a 1981. I've been hunting waterfowl and upland birds for 5 years now and will be trying my luck at deer this year (hopefully). Does anyone have any ammo recommendation for hunting deer and target practice? I've heard some guns like certain types of ammo and loads etc. My 870 doesn't always take Winchester super X well for example. any other advice for this rifle would be appreciated as well, I plan to take care of it forever and will be taking it apart and deep cleaning later this week.
    Congratulations on a very nice rifle.