• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sswheeler

Plinker
    Dec 25, 2008
    Indy
    Hello,
    I am new to the site and so far have found it to be very informative. I am new to muzzleloaders and would like some advice on a good first gun. I'm thinking a inline closed breech. Any sugestions?

66chevelle

Sharpshooter
    Jun 16, 2008
    greenfield
    I must say I bought a CVA Optima this year for my first one. And love it. It is the new break action one and it is very easy to clean and use. My father has a inline and I am not a fan of cleaning it. Actually it may be for sale if your interested. Back to the Optima I bought mine at walmart in Greensburg for $227 and I got a $25 mail in rebate so I pay $202. I took a 133 pound field dressed doe this year and dropped her where she was. It was a high lung shot. Also mine is 2" high at 50 yards and dead on at 100. Hope this helps and welcome to this great site.

Marc

Master
    Aug 16, 2008
    District 6
    i got a tc omega z5 and it work beautifully. i got it from the walmart from down in beechgrove on emerson ave and 465

antsi

Expert
    Nov 6, 2008
    If you are planning on this as a deer rifle, I have been very pleased with my CVA Buckhorn Magnum. It is a very inexpensive rifle - my wife paid I believe $110 for it delivered from Midway USA for a Christmas present for me a few years ago.

She bought it on a tip from her brother, who had one and was very pleased with his. It was a good tip.

The gun has been extremely accurate by muzzle loader standards for me using 2 pryodex pellets and a 250 grain Barnes MZ expander bullet. With this combo, I can easily shoot 2-3 inch groups at 100 yards - which is plenty accurate for deer hunting in Indiana. The MZ expander does a good job dropping the deer, too.