• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • joslar15

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    Bloomington
    When I was at Traildust a week or so ago, I saw a set of 3 throwing knives. I ended up passing on them, but it still sounds like a fun thing to learn. Anyone here have any experience/tips to share with a beginner?

esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy
    I think "Jack Ryan" tosses knives now and then. He's got a video of it somewhere on here. . . .

econnell

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    Howard Co IN
    I have been throwing for 20 years....what would you like to know?? Don't go out and spend a bunch of $ on "throwing" Knives...it's a waste! You will bust handles right and left... or put a nice dent in them from one knife on top of the other.

My advice for a newbie is to find a single side blade, old kbars or replicas of kbars are good...or find a yard sale, find some old butcher knives with a wooden handle..about a 4-6" blade; those things will take a beating and well balanced!

Also learn how to hold it (keep the fingers off the edge!) and when you throw you take one step fwd...depends on how far your target is away from you and where you hold the blade and how many turns you want before the stick...if you are close @ 6-8ft (hold closer to the tip of the blade, it turns faster) you want a 1/2 turn, once you get that down...you can step back another foot or 2 adjust your blade position and repeat...

Don't be fooled by that hollywood knife throwing crap either...

Videos are not good for this sort of thing, it will give you a general idea...but spend a couple of hours with someone and that is all you need to get started, it's provided me with years of enjoyment, I'm so grateful my dad shared his hobbies with me during my childhood.

joslar15

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    Bloomington