• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MattCFII

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    60   0   0
    Jul 12, 2008
    Danville
    I just recently received my LTCH and been trying to find the best method for me to carry. I deal with two unique environments and want some help of first where am I legal to carry in these situations and then what are your suggestions for the best method for me to carry. I know a lot of this would require real legal advice but I also know that there are a lot of knowledgeable people here that could speculate for me to get an idea :):

First, I am a flight instructor at an airport without a security area. Since there is no controlled area I know I am good to carry all around the airport. But the part where IN law becomes gray to me is the no carrying on commercial nor charter flights. While I'm sure the intent of the law is commercial being airlines and I know the aviation definition of charter, I can't figure out if the flights I do instructing people to fly falls under Indiana's definition of those two things. I know if I was just flying an airplane around for my own use I could carry the whole flight as long as I didn't fly to an airport that would require me to go through a controlled area after landing.

Most of the year, often I am at a educational institution part of the day that definitely falls under IC 35-47-9-2 as a NPE. I am most definitely NOT carrying there despite the risk of shootings making me not believe in this law but I'm still going to follow the law. But I have considered parking some place off property and locking the gun up in a car lockbox, while it wouldn't be on hand for what I perceive as one of the largest threats, it would still be there for the trip there, to the airport, and back home. If I were to do this locked up in the car method, my carry method would have to be easy to remove. On a side note, do colleges fall under Indiana's definition of a 'school" under IC 35-47-9-2?