• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jrainw

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 20, 2008
    Morgan county
    I have alot of .223 brass that needs trimmed, I also am tired of making my own 300 whisper brass with my hand crank trimmer. I have a case feeder on my Hornady lock-n-load progressive so I'm leaning to the Dillon. I keep hearing the Giraud is the only way to go.

Anyone have any input?

hornadylnl

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 19, 2008
    I have no personal experience with a Dillon trimmer but I have a Giraud. The Giraud trims, chamfers and deburs all at once. I'm not sure that running a dillon will save you all that much time unless you are running it the same time you are sizing. I've asked and never gotten a really straight answer as to how smooth of a cut that the dillon trimmer makes. I've been told that the Dillon trimmer spins so fast that it pretty much takes the burs off of it. I'd take some pics of the brass I've trimmed with the Giraud but I don't think my camera will really show it. You can move the cutter to adjust the amount of inside vs outside chamfer on the Giraud.

With the Dillon, you trim by case length. With the Giraud, the trimmer indexes off of the case shoulder so your case length will vary just a hair. I would think that if you were running a specific brand of brass shot from the same gun, I don't think there would be much variance at all though.