• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Garb

Master
    May 4, 2009
    Richmond
    I am a total noob when it comes to muzzleloaders, and I am definitely more attracted to the old school look of the flintlocks. What are the advantages and disadvantages of owning a flintlock as opposed to one of the newer ones? Also, if I were to get a flintlock, what is a recommended brand that is affordable?

leftsock

Expert
    Apr 16, 2009
    Greenwood
    What are the advantages and disadvantages of owning a flintlock as opposed to one of the newer ones?

A newer one? Like one using percussion cap technology introduced around 1830? Matchlock, wheellock, flintlock, percussion caps. The progression of technology has made firearm ignition more reliable and less of a pain-in-the-ass to operate.

If you need an ultra reliable firearm, use a modern cartridge-based system. If you're shooting old timey stuff for fun, do whatever draws you to it.

Strictly between flintlock and percussion caps though, you're either priming the pan with powder and using the friction of flint on steel to ignite it and set of the charge in the barrel, or using a hammer hitting a percussion cap to get the same result.

Garb

Master
    May 4, 2009
    Richmond
    A newer one? Like one using percussion cap technology introduced around 1830? Matchlock, wheellock, flintlock, percussion caps. The progression of technology has made firearm ignition more reliable and less of a pain-in-the-ass to operate.

If you need an ultra reliable firearm, use a modern cartridge-based system. If you're shooting old timey stuff for fun, do whatever draws you to it.