• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • scott86

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 20, 2014
    Warsaw
    Hi I'm new to INGO. I have an Enfield 1917 chambered in 30-06 it has a ladder sight and the problem I'm having is at 100 yards my shot is high, we'll say about a foot and a half, which is about the height of my front sight post which can't be adjusted and the ladder is at the lowest setting. So the only thing I can come up with is maybe finding a gunsmith to add to or make a new longer front sight. I should also mention that the gun has been completely redone and is in what I would consider immaculate condition. I'm open to new ideas and or recommendations on gunsmiths you would trust to do this type of work. Thanks in advance.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    Maybe your front sight is filed down. Maybe not. Your pic shows a front sight like every other 1917 I have ever seen.

Your rifle is supposed to shoot high at 100 yards. At the lowest setting that is a 300 yard zero. It is called a Battle Sight Zero. It is normal for many military bolt guns.

Shoot it at 300 yards using the aperature and report back.

Jerry Johnson is the only person I would trust to work on your rifle. Other than me.

Last edited:

scott86

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 20, 2014
    Warsaw
    Maybe your front sight is filed down. Maybe not. Your pic shows a front sight like every other 1917 I have ever seen.

Your rifle is supposed to shoot high at 100 yards. At the lowest setting that is a 300 yard zero. It is called a Battle Sight Zero. It is normal for many military bolt guns.

Interesting, I was unaware of this "battle sight zero". I will definitely have to try it at 300 yards.