• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Haven

Network Warlord
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Nov 6, 2016
    Camby Area
    I'm not 100% this is where this should go, but here we go.

I am very new to Rifles. I have only been shooting rifles since 2017. Earlier this year I built my first AR-15. I know nothing about about compensators. So I am looking to be taught about them.

When I was at the NRA convention I looked at the Maxim Defense Hate Brake. While it sounds like some cool tech, it is a bit spendy, I think. I have seen prices on compensators from $30 - 100 when I stop at various gun shops. I have the basic whatever it is on a PSA upper.

Then I found this: https://www.bcidefense.com/spare-parts/muzzle-devices/envoy-compensator

Is this a good compensator? What makes a good compensator? What should I be looking at?

I'm not even sure I am asking the right questions.

Thanks!

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    First . . . why do you want a comp on your rifle? The applications and needs will help.

In general, the purpose of a compensator is minimize the movement of your muzzle so that you can shoot follow-up shots more quickly. They do so by directing they gas flow from the muzzle in a direction to minimize muzzle rise (usually upward primarily). The cost of a compensator is that more intense sound is perceived by the shooter and even more so by people near the shooter. They will also typically increase muzzle flash. There are muzzle devices that are designed to both reduce muzzle rise and reduce flash, but they are always going to be a compromise with one exception. A silencer (aka suppressor) dramatically reduces both muzzle flash and muzzle movement. There are also some unusual designs that direct gases forward to minimize the increased sound on the shooting side of the gun (like the "linear comp").

chenowethpm

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Feb 12, 2019