• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dick

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 2, 2011
    Ft. Wayne
    I used to be an automotive tech about 3 years ago. Back then I wasnt carrying yet. My old boss was telling me his tech left and hes been working alone. Been pretty busy and needing help. So after chatting we decided I could come in after my full time job and help knock out some lighter work like oil changes, tire rotations, etc. and make a few extra bucks to help pay off debt while still indulging in my Jeep and gun hobbies.

From working in my garage, I know that my EDC XD-40 on my hip wont work. When laying on my side, leaning, etc, it digs into my hip too much and hurts, plus i dont like the idea of constantly grinding the gun against the concrete when setting lifts or crawling under cars.

Ive also got a Bersa Firestorm .380 (I believe its pretty much identical to the Thunder .380s). Its a lot smaller than the my full size XD, so its probably gonna be the better choice for carry in the shop. Just looking for input on how to carry it. The hip wont work. I figure an ankle holster on the inside of my leg will probably be best in keeping it out of my way when i have to get down low to set the lift, crawl under hoods, etc., while also keeping it concealed. My wife picked up a cheap universal ankle holster at the last gun show here at the Coliseum. Gonna wear that during my full time job tomorrow with the Bersa to see how I like it.

Any suggestions on other methods? Good ankle holsters? Im a lefty too, which sometimes makes it difficult. Some manufacturers tend to not make holsters for both sides, jerks :xmad:

Thanks in advance!:ingo:

billybob44

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    386   0   0
    Sep 22, 2010
    In the Man Cave
    Appendix carry?

^^^I don't think so--Do you realize how often a Tech is leaning over a fender, hood, or grill??