• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HCRMPD1

Marksman
    Rating - 98%
    49   1   0
    Jan 4, 2012
    Shelbyville
    As a police officer I am disturbed by all of the attention that this produces. It is not the police officers that enacted these laws. These laws were enacted by the legislators that were elected by the people complaining about the law(s).

Having said that, if I am not doing anything wrong, then I have nothing to fear. The agency I work for has audio/video equipment in our patrol vehicles. As a supervisor, I like those cameras because if an officer does something wrong the investigation and disciplinary action are done very quickly. On the other hand, if a citizen files a false complaint, a good officer's reputation need not suffer unnecessarily.

Finally, I have testified on issues concerning use of force. I often times cringe when I read a media article when the press uses terms like roughing up a suspect, or tuning up a perp, etc. The question that should be asked on use of force is: "Was the force reasonable and necessary given all the circumstances surrounding the situation".

In summary, I disagree with Boston's law (which has no bearing here in Hoosier Country); and I will with hold any criticisms of the Officers there, because they are sworn to uphold those laws that were past. As for there treatment of the suspect; that is a topic for greater discussion than can be covered here.

Jack Burton

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 9, 2008
    NWI
    Good honest cops will stay good and honest regardless of the circumstances. Bad cops will begin to reflect upon another career choice as recordings become more ubiquitous.

strahd71

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 2, 2010
    wanatah