• ...and so much more!
  • Bapak2ja

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 17, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    Friends and Taurii Lovers,

I posted this on another thread, but I want a larger audience to consider this and offer suggestions. Your help will be greatly appreciated.

I recently bought the 709 Slim from mjrducky on . I took it to the range yesterday for the first time. It handled well. I really like the small size, as it fits my hands very well. It was as accurate as it could have been given that I am still learning the art. I consistently hit the torso, but it pulled down left more than I like to admit.

mjrducky assured me he had no trouble with the weapon before I bought it from him. I understood him to mean that he personally had no FTF or FTE issues with it. To be fair, he may not have SAID that, but he did allow me to believe it. This leads me to think there is a problem with either my handling of the weapon, my ammo or, most likely, the gun. I am posting here not to bash a fellow er; I add this info only to give background to my problem and to ask for help on fixing it.

Range report. All firing was done at H&H's FWA range @7-10 yds (no authoritative statement has been given about the distance to the first red line marker). The 709 Slim is 9mm Luger. I have 7+1 mags but only loaded to seven (or used the remaining of the box or ammo type in the second mag).

First set of Mags 10 rounds
    Ammo: Hornady Critical Defense 115gr FTX.
    Three (3) failure to fire
    one (1) FTE.
    Failure to fire was due to the FTE. I tested the automatic reset of the trigger before examining the problem. Wanted to see if it worked as advertised.

Second set of Mags 8 rounds
    Ammo: Speer Gold Dot Personal Protection 124gr GDHP
    one (1) FTE.

Third set of mags 12 rounds
    Ammo: Speer Gold Dot Personal Protection 124gr GDHP (finished the box)
    one (1) FTE.

Fourth set of mags 14 rounds
    Ammo: Lellier & Bellot 115gr FMJ
    one (1) FTE.