CZ P-07; hammer falls to half cock instead of fully dropping?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 2A-Hoosier23

ammo fiend
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Sep 16, 2018
    Lawrence
    I'm a rookie and may not use all the correct terms but any help here would be highly appreciated.

I have a 9mm CZ P-07 with the full Cajun Gun Werks Pro Upgrade kit, 1600 rounds thru the gun after the kit was installed by a local gunsmith. Last range trip 3 days ago I fired 270 rounds through the gun and had my first 2 malfunctions, both failures to fire, both seemingly light primer strikes (dimpled primer) with S&B 115 gr FMJ, maybe 3-4 magazines in between the failures. Both rounds were re-chambered and fired, the first took 3 more trigger presses/hammer strikes before going off, the second took just one more.

Just now in dry fire practice i noticed something I hadn't before. When pressing the trigger very slowly I got the hammer to fall to the half cock position, then after added pressure on the trigger, it fell from half cock to full drop. I was able to do this a couple more times, deliberately pressing the trigger very slowly and watching the hammer. I couldn't recreate this from single action dry fire, only from double action, but both of the live ammo failures that happened on the range were in single action, and I have no idea if the hammer was doing the same thing. The 2 malfunction bullet primers were clearly dimpled, though, so not sure if that would answer that.

other details that might matter: