• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ltrain

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 8, 2012
    I'm relatively new to carrying a handgun and I just can't bring myself to carry it with one in the pipe. Am I alone or does anyone else feel this way? I know every second counts in a life or death situation but I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Iroquois

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 7, 2011
    What gun are you carrying? If you're this nervous maybe you should get a revolver and
    carry it 'cowboy style' with the hammer down on an empty chamber.
    Modern firearms won't go off if dropped; if you carry a double action see if you can carry it with the hammer down and safety on. Then you can leave one in the chamber knowing there's 2 steps to firing...safety and a long trigger pull.

Sylvain

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 30, 2010
    Normandy
    You need to get some training if you are nervous about carrying a gun (one in the pipe or not, doesn't matter).
    I dont see the point of carrying a gun unloead, but if you decide to do that you better train to chamber a round one handed since you will probably have your other hand busy or injured in a self defense situation (just like you should do even if you carry with one in the pipe).

Booya

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Aug 26, 2010
    Fort Fun
    You need to get some training if you are nervous about carrying a gun (one in the pipe or not, doesn't matter).
    I dont see the point of carrying a gun unloead, but if you decide to do that you better train to chamber a round one handed since you will probably have your other hand busy or injured in a self defense situation (just like you should do even if you carry with one in the pipe).

Sylvain has the right idea!

.45 Dave

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 13, 2010
    Anderson