IN LTCH still valid if I moved out of state?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • j_kinder

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 16, 2011
    Hello,

I obtained my IN LTCH while I was an Indiana resident. I recently moved to OH for graduate school, and I sent in the address update form for my LTCH with my current OH address. I have not yet taken all of the classes and BS needed to get carry in OH, but what I am wondering is whether I can still legally carry when I am back in IN, or if IN LTCH is only valid for IN residents?

Thanks!

Captain Bligh

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 19, 2008
    Where is your legal residence? Many college students continue to claim their parents' home as their legal residence. Are you paying out-of-state tuition or have you established residency in Ohio? For college students, I suspect that legal residence is a more important matter than where your head hits the pillow during the school year.

tgmorris99

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jun 17, 2011
    Westfield
    I had contemplated a move out of state but my domicile would still be Indiana as I wasn't going to sell my house. Even though I would have been a legal resident of a different state I was told by ISP that all I needed to do was change the address on the LTCH to match my out-of-state ID and my LTCH would be valid whenever I was back in Indiana. The key here is that I was still a legal resident as far as being domiciled in Indiana even though I was residing out of the state.

CountryBoy19

Grandmaster
    Rating - 91.7%
    11   1   0