• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ruffnek

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Thinking about buying a progressive press but I'm a noob so I have a question. Can lubed cases be reloaded? I see YouTube videos of people reloading on their progressive presses, which includes resizing as a step. I know that rifle cases should be lubed before resizing, especially if you're full-length resizing. So are these people just not lubing the cases or just reloading lubed cases or what? I was talking to my wife's grandfather, who reloads infrequently, about buying a progressive press and loading .223 on it and he asked me about this in an attempt to play devil's advocate. I was stumped. Help?

Sorry if this is jumbled.

Last edited:

ljk

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    May 21, 2013
    I processed about 5k 223 cases over the Christmas break. I use Lee de-capping die on a single stage.

You must lube the cases. I refuse to pay the brand name stuff, instead I mix it myself with 1:8 liquid Lanolin oil and 99% alcohol.

I soak the cases in 1:40 vinegar/water mix over night, dry them out on a beach towel. throw about 500-600 in a ziploc bag, spray my homemade case lube, shake it well.

De-cap/resize. Then wet tumble.

There's no die on my 550B stage #1.

[video=youtube;0117UuXiSS4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0117UuXiSS4[/video]

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    I size/ deprime on a single stage.
    Trim if need be.
    Tumble to remove the lube.
    Leave the die out of station 1 on the dillon 550. The case goes through the hole on the up stroke, then the rest of the stations as normal.

ljk

Master
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    May 21, 2013
    f7FdEdG.jpg

Makes sense. Is there anything "cool" and useful to fill that empty space?

ART338WM

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%