• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    Maybe instead of this being a pure review, it should be called a 'showdown' between these two holsters.

I've been using a CrossBreed for several years while carrying several different 1911 pistols of various different sizes.

Last year I purchased a couple 1911 pistols with the lower accessory rails and none of my various holsters will accept a 1911 with an accessory rail. So while shopping at Cabelas to pick up some 45acp I walked down the holster aisle and found a Galco King Tuck for 1911 w/rail.

• The Galco is 2 layers of leather that are glued or bonded together while the CrossBreed is 1 layer of leather.
    • The leather on the skin side of the holster is smooth, almost with a polished finish. The skin side of the CrossBreed is a natural finish that is not rough, but nor is it smooth.
    • The Kydex holster on the Galco is a 'universal' fit type, they used exactly the same Kydex part for their 1911 5" holster, their 1911 3-to-4" holster and their "railed" and "non-railed" holsters. The leather was longer on the 5" holster than on the 3-4" holster. The Kydex on the CrossBreed is individually moulded to the gun model ~~ or it was when I bought mine several years ago.
    • The metal belt clips on the Galco hold securely and snap over your belt. The CrossBreed offers several different types of loops and clips.