• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 9, 2022
    Bloomington
    So I'm fairly new to reloading, and right now am mostly working on developing a load for my 6.5 Creedmoor RPR. My brother-in-law who got me into reloading advised me that for best accuracy, I should shoot factory ammo, save the casings, and then neck-size only, the idea being that the brass would be fire-formed to the chamber of my specific gun, which means in would sit more consistently in the chamber and thus increase accuracy. But since then I've also heard things where people are saying that neck sizing isn't worth it, or that in can even be less accurate than full-length sizing.

Does anyone have any advice in this regard? I plan on testing out the same load with some neck-sized only cases and then the same load in full-length sized cases, and see which one performs better, but I'm curious what you all's experience has been.

Michigan Slim

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2014
    Fort Wayne
    I can't just neck size most of my calibers because of multiple guns in those calibers. That said however, I will get neck sizing .243 just for my new Ruger No 1. I was given a couple hundred Hornady cases so those will be mine only. I don't want to work the brass a ton by full length sizing every time and the loads will be just for that gun.

Reactions: Leo

BE Mike

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    New Albany
    I don't know if there is any difference in accuracy between the two and my high power rifle shooting is very limited. One thing I learned, while I was engaged in shooting competitions was to listen to the champions. If I were in your situation, I'd consider this: http://www.davidtubb.com/6xc-sizing-die

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 9, 2022