• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • IndianaGTI

Expert
    May 2, 2010
    OK, I was laid up last week. While sitting around, I was wanting to hone my shooting skills. I cannot do that at home. Does anyone find any value to practicing with either airsoft or a pellet gun in their basement? If so, I know I have no experience with airsoft, but I think there is quite a bit of difference in them. Any recommendations? Mainly, it would have to be precise at 20 feet.

JetGirl

Grandmaster
    May 7, 2008
    N/E Corner
    If it's a crappy rainy day or after dark, sometimes me and the fam will have "match shoots" in the living room. Trigger time is trigger time (muscle memory and all that jazz). Even most of the cheaper spingers (like what I have) are accurate to the distance you're mentioning.

Get yourself a BB trap, or you'll find them ALL OVER.

I had the spousal unit frame me up a trap shaped like a bird house (because I have birdhouses decorating certain areas, and when it's not being used as a BB trap, it's not "out of place").

Frame.jpg

Rawtrap.jpg

Then I base-coat painted it and girlied it up a bit with stencils;

Primed.jpg

JetGirlsTools.jpg

The solid back side is painted with a design...so I turn it around backwards when it's not in use. The target side is actually the front (it's an open cube, so you just tack a target on the corners;

ReadytoShoot.jpg

closer.jpg

When it's not in use;

waitingfornexttime.jpg

Here's what we shoot with;

AirSoft013.jpg

Oct2008005.jpg

IndianaGTI

Expert
    May 2, 2010
    Wow, great idea. I have a 5 year old who is already too interested in guns so I will be relegated to the garage, but that is a great bullet trap.

Bronsonbull

Expert
    Feb 20, 2008
    just north of Indy