• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Scott223

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Dec 9, 2012
    Indianapolis
    Hello everyone, i am new to reloading. I took basic reloading at Pro Fire and i was wondering if i might get some suggestions from other veteran loaders about what kind and brand of loader i should go with. All opinons would be appreciated as that would save me from making novice mistakes. I am going to be loading pistol and rifle. Mainly 9mm, 45cal, .233 and .308

warthog

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    66   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Vigo County
    Well Scott, for 30 plus years I have been using a Lee 4 hole Turret Press (though it started as a 3 hole) and I think it is by far the best bang for the buck. I also went with Lee Dies & a Lee AutoDisk powder dropper. I did go with Redding for my Scale as I didn't care for the one Lee makes much. I use a bean scale, Redding #2 but I suspect you will want an electronic one so I will leave that to others to suggest.

I use the Turret press for my handguns and I use a single stage for rifles since I am not loading for a semi-auto. If you are loading for a semi-auto, I suggest a progressive press from Dillon for you rifle needs, in fact you can just go Dillon all the way for everything since a progressive press will make your ammo faster. IMO, Dillon makes the best progressive presses. By going this way though, you will have a higher inititial cost than you would going with the Lee TURRET. The Lee Classic Turret will load the rifles as well though it won't be as fast. So this would be a matter of personal choice.

You will hear a lot of folks tell you, "You get what you pay for" which is supposed to mean Lee makes crappy equipment. I have to disagree, I think they simply feel they must pay more for something to make it work. All brands work pretty well, Lee just costs less. I'm not that rich so I use Lee. :)

There are my :twocents:

shadow6492

Expert