• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 25, 2012
    Indianapolis
    Hello - I'm a long-time lurker on the forum and thought since I took some training recently it would be a good opportunity to make a useful first post.

I attended the Armed Dynamics Defensive Pistol I on October 27th, 2012. The class was hosted by AGS Armaments and conducted at Hillside Shooting Sports. Jeff Bloovman lead the class. I attended the Mindset Lab Intro to Force on Force a couple of months ago and another student recommended the Armed Dynamics training very highly.

I have limited formal training with pistols. I have fired a wide variety of them but am no expert or operator-type. I used to own 1911s but decided to switch to 9mm because of the cost of ammunition. I had been shooting an HK USP 9mm for about the last three years and enjoyed shooting with it but it seemed like everyone who does this sort of training (Tactical Response, Mindset and Armed Dynamics) strongly prefer the Glock. I got a great deal on a G19 recently and put some night sights on it and practiced with it three times before the class. I was a little bit worried about not having a lot of familiarity with the pistol but the instructors said that they have students sometimes that have a lot less or no experience at all so no big deal. Nine students attended with a variety of experience (including one guy who had only fired a gun three times before the class).